Polish epg (and OSD) font support

Fixed bugs & the feature requests that have been implemented. Section is just to inform users during version changes.

Moderators: FredB, X05, Dreamer

Jarek_1974
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 am
Location: Poland

Polish epg (and OSD) font support

Postby Jarek_1974 » Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:34 pm

What to do is really little thing:

because DVBdream epg font is locked and there's no way to change it
i have request to add ability to set epg font TAHOMA or ARIAL NARROW BOLD

I am creator of polish epg font (with polish national symbols)
for CYFRA+, POLSAT CYFROWY and ITI TVN Group
and I have this modificated fonts here:
http://hegre.dl.interia.pl/polegpfont.zip

and effect:

TAHOMA
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/4242/epg25fu.jpg

ARIAL NARROW BOLD
http://arena-jb.dl.interia.pl/epg1.jpg

Book Antiqua Bold
http://arena-jb.dl.interia.pl/epg.png

I use (in alphabetical order) AltDVB, DVBdream and MyTheatre
and all three programs are great.
But MyTheatre hasn't polish epg OSD font,
AltDVB hasn't real OSD at all
and DVBdream ????????????

Many many thanks from me and my country fellows.

dont worry be happy
ASTRA (19,2) + HOTBIRD (13) + ALTDVB + DVBDREAM (BDA?) + MYTHEATRE (BDA) + SKYVIEW (BDA)
pvdeejay
Home away from home
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:02 am
Location: slovakia
Contact:

Postby pvdeejay » Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:38 am

there are also problems displaying slovak and czech EPG but it applies to the EPG window it-self too. We were tallking about this with rel and found out that problems are caused by the fact that our local provider use some character-encoding which is not currently supported by DVB dream. Some chars are represented by 2 bites. so I am just trying to understand if your problem is similar to this or completelly different. Are the EPG info you are talking about encoded in such a way that some chars are 2 bites long please?
P4 3.0GHz 1024 MB of ram, nvidia Geforce 6600, SS2 rev 2.6, WDM drivers 4.41, SG2100, always latest DVBDream with the latest FFDshow.
Jarek_1974
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 am
Location: Poland

Postby Jarek_1974 » Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:24 pm

pvdeejay wrote:Are the EPG info you are talking about encoded in such a way that some chars are 2 bites long please?

Yes it is. BUT...

I've modificated font (with some font editor: High-Logic Font Creator 5.0) in that way:
from 2 symbols I've made 1 proper national symbol.

Its very simple if you catch tha rule.

Image

TAHOMA original - polish windows
Image

TAHOMA modified for polish epg
Image


Image

ps. you can change system font i.e. TAHOMA on NOT running Windows,
you'll need bootdisk with NTFS DOS filemanager
and then overwrite original font file
http://www.bootdisk.com/ntfs.htm
dont worry be happy

ASTRA (19,2) + HOTBIRD (13) + ALTDVB + DVBDREAM (BDA?) + MYTHEATRE (BDA) + SKYVIEW (BDA)
pvdeejay
Home away from home
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:02 am
Location: slovakia
Contact:

Postby pvdeejay » Mon Sep 04, 2006 9:43 am

Jarek_1974 wrote:Yes it is. BUT...

I've modificated font (with some font editor: High-Logic Font Creator 5.0) in that way:
from 2 symbols I've made 1 proper national symbol.

Its very simple if you catch tha rule.

well then some more questions arise :)
which codepage has polish windows used as default one; is it windows CP 1250?
can this font be added into the system as a completelly new font (not a replacement of the existing one)?
If this is all true we can try shipping this modified font somewhere around here for central european users if this applies to more than polish EPG. Would be reasonable to try on slovak or czech providers.
P4 3.0GHz 1024 MB of ram, nvidia Geforce 6600, SS2 rev 2.6, WDM drivers 4.41, SG2100, always latest DVBDream with the latest FFDshow.
Jarek_1974
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 am
Location: Poland

Postby Jarek_1974 » Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:40 pm

Q: which codepage has polish windows used as default one; is it windows CP 1250?
A: yes
charset=windows-1250 for windows programs etc.
CentralEuropean script

(charset=iso-8859-2 suggested for html www standard)

Q :can this font be added into the system as a completelly new font (not a replacement of the existing one)?
A: Yes, but I can't create unique font (I dont know how :( )
Modifying existing one is very very simple :)
Creating new one require knowledge and learning (I am not font maker professional)
I am just regular guy ;)

Q: If this is all true we can try shipping this modified font somewhere around here for central european users if this applies to more than polish EPG. Would be reasonable to try on slovak or czech providers.
A: Yes It could be done, I can make polish font PART
But I puzzle that symbols from various countries (Czech, Slovak, Poland)
may overlap (appear) one each other (sorry for not perfect english)
I mean situation for example when Polish and Sloavak symbols are ine the same SYMBOL CELL ???

Up to now I've modified 3 various fonts (Tahoma, Arial Narrow and Book Antiqua)
I catch the rule controlling EPG appearance.
It works great with MyTheatre EPG.

But still dreaming about Polish OSD EPG..... (on PC)
I have DBox2 with Keywelt image and Polish locale (font)
and there's no such problem, everything's OK.
Maybe this way ?????

So there's Q's and A's and work to do.

Awaitng orders. Let's try it out. We will see.
dont worry be happy

ASTRA (19,2) + HOTBIRD (13) + ALTDVB + DVBDREAM (BDA?) + MYTHEATRE (BDA) + SKYVIEW (BDA)
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Postby rel » Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:56 am

@Jarek, your solution seems to work fine.

two things I will add:

1) Possible to change EPG Font
v1.2a (the version will be released today) supports to change EPG font.

options->preferences->localization->EPG Font



2) To create new fonts

You can use following evulation software.

http://www.high-logic.com/fcp50setup.exe

use Tools->AutoNaming to give a new name to the font you modified.



@pveedejay, please attach the fonts here, if you can create a font for Slovak/Czech alphabet.
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Thu Sep 07, 2006 4:37 pm

rel wrote:2) To create new fonts

You can use following evulation software.

http://www.high-logic.com/fcp50setup.exe

use Tools->AutoNaming to give a new name to the font you modified.

@pveedejay, please attach the fonts here, if you can create a font for Slovak/Czech alphabet.

I could try it too, but what font I should modify and how? I tried first one - Arial and it looks that all Slovak/Czech characters are already there.
Dreamer
pvdeejay
Home away from home
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:02 am
Location: slovakia
Contact:

Postby pvdeejay » Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:59 pm

Dreamer wrote:I could try it too, but what font I should modify and how? I tried first one - Arial and it looks that all Slovak/Czech characters are already there.

yes all the fonts you have in your windows\fonts folder have all the local symbols we need. this modification should define those 2 chars pairs to be show as the proper symbol.
I dont know much about it and I cant go any further because this software is completelly unaccessible to me (you perhaps know why). I'll try searching for some howtos; I hope we can work it out together somehow :)
thanks for help
P4 3.0GHz 1024 MB of ram, nvidia Geforce 6600, SS2 rev 2.6, WDM drivers 4.41, SG2100, always latest DVBDream with the latest FFDshow.
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:53 am

I tried to change fonts in v1.2a, but it's still the same. I tried also special Czech font for teletext. Lets wait for Rel's reply...
Dreamer
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:52 pm

Dreamer wrote:
rel wrote:2) To create new fonts

You can use following evulation software.

http://www.high-logic.com/fcp50setup.exe

use Tools->AutoNaming to give a new name to the font you modified.

@pveedejay, please attach the fonts here, if you can create a font for Slovak/Czech alphabet.

I could try it too, but what font I should modify and how? I tried first one - Arial and it looks that all Slovak/Czech characters are already there.

I'm still waiting, I don't know how long that program will be working (because it's shareware), so please let me know what exactly I should do and how. Thanks.
Dreamer
Jarek_1974
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 am
Location: Poland

Postby Jarek_1974 » Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:11 pm

BIG BIG THANX !!!! WELL DONE!!!
but
one symbol is missed (in Mytheatre is everything OK)

I dont why it is missed but I check this out as soon as possible.

Image

ImageImageImage
dont worry be happy

ASTRA (19,2) + HOTBIRD (13) + ALTDVB + DVBDREAM (BDA?) + MYTHEATRE (BDA) + SKYVIEW (BDA)
pvdeejay
Home away from home
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:02 am
Location: slovakia
Contact:

Postby pvdeejay » Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:54 am

hey jarek
have you managed to create completelly new font? or do you still use those modded tahoma, arial ETC ones?
P4 3.0GHz 1024 MB of ram, nvidia Geforce 6600, SS2 rev 2.6, WDM drivers 4.41, SG2100, always latest DVBDream with the latest FFDshow.
User avatar
petrusek
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 3:50 am
Location: Czech republic - Brno

Czech/Slovak characters

Postby petrusek » Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:12 pm

Insipred by posts above, I have made font for displaying Czech/Slovak characters in EPG by modyfying of existing font, but correct handling of that strange encoding used by our providers (ISO 6937) and mapping it to encoding default for Windows (for Czech it is Windows 1250) would be much better solution allowing to use any font and better typographic result.

If there were some config file that would allow to specify encoding mapping (1 or sequence of 2 bytes from EPG text source to ANSI character from Windows default codepage or better to Unicode character), it could solve all of this (Czech/Slovak/Polish/...) problems. I am able and ready to create and test that config file for Czech characters.

I think that information about used encoding must be included in EPG part of transport stream, so codepage mapping config file could be somehow mapped to this information.

12.1.2007 - modified Tahoma regular added
1.2.2007 - Tahoma regular updated, link to information about ISO 6937 added
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by petrusek on Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
AVerTV Hybrid+FM Volar (A828) with BDA driver v 1.5.0.74
Athlon 64 3200+, 1024MB RAM, nvidia Geforce 6600
Windows XP Professional SP2 CZ
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:24 pm

Thank you petrusek! It works also in DVB-S: CS Link (CZ Link), UPC Czech Republic and UPC Slovakia.

I'll create a new topic with Polish and Czech/Slovak font files with more info and add it also to FAQ.
Last edited by Dreamer on Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dreamer
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:32 pm

Jarek, could you upload the file again? This error has showed when I tried to download it:

"Nieprawidłowy adres strony (error 404)"

Thanks.
Dreamer

Return to “Done”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest