Memory leak in 1.4i?

the bugs that are most likely related to user configuration (like a specific hardware, codec or driver prob) or impossible to find a logical reason at the moment. The problems in this category might be fixed in future versions as users keep confirming them with additional information.

Moderators: FredB, X05, Dreamer

Julian
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:57 pm

Memory leak in 1.4i?

Postby Julian » Wed Apr 09, 2008 1:11 am

I did a search, but didn't find anything about a leak in 1.4i. I did see mention of a leak in an earlier release of 1.4, but it was listed as fixed. Anyway, I'm "losing" ~50KB/sec. After running all night, dvbdream.exe may have as much as 1.3GB allocated. It's really eating up my system resources.

I have a Twinhan 102G(1022) card, running the latest BDA driver(1.2.3.8). I've got an ATI X1600 video card, running the latest drivers (8.471.0.0-2/25/08), 2GB ram, BE-2350, GA-MA78GM-S2H motherboard, and XP SP2. I'm using nVidia purevideo v4020.223.0.0 for audio and video. I have neither timeshift nor lan streaming enabled. Any thoughts as to how to narrow down where this leak is coming from?

Edit:
I've attached two log files, in case they are of any assistance.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Twinhan 102G(1022)-1.2.3.8 BDA driver
ATI X1600 video card, 8.471.0.0-2/25/08
GA-MA78GM-S2H, BE-2350, 2GB ram, XP SP2
nVidia purevideo v4020.223.0.0

DP Twin(110/119)
Julian
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:57 pm

Postby Julian » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:06 am

Am I really the only person who's having this problem? After a couple hours watching TV, I am no longer able to hibernate due to insufficient system resources.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Twinhan 102G(1022)-1.2.3.8 BDA driver

ATI X1600 video card, 8.471.0.0-2/25/08

GA-MA78GM-S2H, BE-2350, 2GB ram, XP SP2

nVidia purevideo v4020.223.0.0



DP Twin(110/119)
bigdawgte
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:23 am

Me too

Postby bigdawgte » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:44 am

I find that it varies depending on how I configure time shifting. If I use RAM time shifting, it eats up memory like crazy. I, like you, would like some feedback on this issue.
AMD Sempron 3100+ CPU
DFI LanParty UT NF3 250GB MB
Twinhan 1022a
Dvico FusionHDTV3 Gold-T Qam
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT
Audigy 2

DP Twin (119 & 110)
DP Single (61.5)
DP34
Julian
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:57 pm

Postby Julian » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:12 pm

Huh... problem solved. I switched from the BDA drivers to the older WDM drivers, and switched the DD device to Twinhan Direct, and the memory leak is gone. That would seem to suggest that the problem is either in the Twinhan BDA drivers, or in the DD BDA device... I've read that the twinhan BDA drivers have a lot of problems, so the problem probably lies there.
Twinhan 102G(1022)-1.2.3.8 BDA driver

ATI X1600 video card, 8.471.0.0-2/25/08

GA-MA78GM-S2H, BE-2350, 2GB ram, XP SP2

nVidia purevideo v4020.223.0.0



DP Twin(110/119)
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 1857
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Postby rel » Sun May 11, 2008 2:12 am

must be twinhan drivers.
I cant reproduce with other BDA cards
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
cbpa
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:03 pm

BDA (2.2.0) memory usage

Postby cbpa » Wed Feb 04, 2009 2:41 pm

I usually use DD with my SS2 card (no problems). Recently, I switched to a TT S2-3200. I'm using the BDA device 2.2.0 and experiencing the same symptoms listed - constant upward memory usage.

I've tried several versions of the TT BDA driver with the same result. I don't use timeshifting and have toggled most options I can think of with the same result. I can use the TT BDA driver in another DVB app. and it doesn't show the memory usage issue.

I've tried to use the BDA_ALL device but I have an issue with DisEqC. Does anyone know of an updated version of either BDA device file?

Does anyone else using the BDA device file show the memory usage issue?

Thanks.
SS2 2.6, TT S2-3200
cbpa
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:03 pm

Postby cbpa » Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:28 pm

After reading other forums, it doesn't look like there is any way to stop it. I did setup a different computer and it doesn't have the memory issue. I can't find the difference in the two but that's the way most things work for me in the PC dvb world.
SS2 2.6, TT S2-3200

Return to “Undetermined”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests