Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Test version are publicly available test versions of the updates (patches like a, b, c, d...) and uploaded here for users to test/confirm the bug fixes before the release versions.

Moderators: Dreamer, X05, FredB

User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 1781
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby rel » Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:02 am

http://www.dvbdream.org/files/bda_20080301_6.rar


please test and report the results.

Tested on:
- Hauppauge Nova-S-Plus (DVB-S) by Odz
- Geniatech DigiStar 3 (DVB-S) by SiDz
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
Elector
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:18 pm

Re: Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby Elector » Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:14 pm

rel wrote:http://www.dvbdream.org/files/bda_20080301_6.rar


please test and report the results.

Tested on:
- Hauppauge Nova-S-Plus (DVB-S) by Odz
- Geniatech DigiStar 3 (DVB-S) by SiDz



Sweet, it works... Thank you very much.

I have tested it a bit, and I have only found one problem this far. I can't get it to change to port 5 on my 8 port switch, but that might be because I don't quite understand the configuration in DVBDream.

I have attached my current DiSEqC settings here. If it's supposed to work, then maybe you could give a few pointers on how to get it working?

I have configged Astra 2A, 2B, 2D with the following
Raw Diseqc: E0 10 38 F0
Uncommitted: 1

All the other positions are configged with their respective Raw Diseqc values and uncommitted 0.


Regards
Elector
Attachments
DVBDream_Diseqc_Settings.png
DVBDream_Diseqc_Settings.png (15.13 KiB) Viewed 19011 times
Last edited by Elector on Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:44 am, edited 2 times in total.
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-4000 / 8-port DiSEqC / 5 LNB
NVIDIA 8800-GT / 4GB RAM / WinXP
bud
Just popping in
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:04 am

Re: Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby bud » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:00 am

rel wrote:http://www.dvbdream.org/files/bda_20080301_6.rar


please test and report the results.

Tested on:
- Hauppauge Nova-S-Plus (DVB-S) by Odz
- Geniatech DigiStar 3 (DVB-S) by SiDz


many thanks rel,

i have HVR 4000
and diseqC works very well,
i have astra and hotbird and diseqC are config as ku-linear, no raw,
uncommitted disabled,
all hd-S2 transponder on this sat are scan is ok,

thanks
Elector
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:18 pm

Re: Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby Elector » Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:17 am

Elector wrote:I have tested it a bit, and I have only found one problem this far. I can't get it to change to port 5 on my 8 port switch, but that might be because I don't quite understand the configuration in DVBDream.

I have attached my current DiSEqC settings here. If it's supposed to work, then maybe you could give a few pointers on how to get it working?

I have configged Astra 2A, 2B, 2D with the following
Raw Diseqc: E0 10 38 F0
Uncommitted: 1

All the other positions are configged with their respective Raw Diseqc values and uncommitted 0.


I noticed that bud didn't use any raw diseqc values, so I tried to remove those from all satellites, and it still works great for port 1-4, but I can't get port 5 working. :-(

Any suggestions would appreciated.


Regards
Elector
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-4000 / 8-port DiSEqC / 5 LNB

NVIDIA 8800-GT / 4GB RAM / WinXP
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 1781
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Re: Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby rel » Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:48 am

bud wrote:

many thanks rel,

i have HVR 4000
and diseqC works very well,
i have astra and hotbird and diseqC are config as ku-linear, no raw,
uncommitted disabled,
all hd-S2 transponder on this sat are scan is ok,

thanks


thanks for the confirmations

@Elector, pick "None" as diseqc switch type. Then add all satellites you will use to the tree. This way, you can assign uncommitted switch ports for each sat when you double click on them and go to uncommitted tab. (1..5)
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
Elector
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:18 pm

Re: Diseqc patch for Hauppauge and Geniatech BDA drivers

Postby Elector » Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:28 am

rel wrote:@Elector, pick "None" as diseqc switch type. Then add all satellites you will use to the tree. This way, you can assign uncommitted switch ports for each sat when you double click on them and go to uncommitted tab. (1..5)


Ok. Tried that, didn't get it working.

Should I use Raw Diseqc commands with this setup? I tried without and it didn't work.

I have attached my current setup.

Thor, Sirius, Hotbird and Astra 1 are all set to Uncommitted 0
Astra 2 is set to Uncommitted 1

Sounds about right to me, but not working?


Edit:
I just tested with raw values
Uncommitted 0 for these 4
Thor = E0 10 38 F0
Sirius = E0 10 38 F4
Hotbird = E0 10 38 F8
Astra 1 = E0 10 38 FC

Uncommitted 1 for this one
Astra 2 = E0 10 38 F0

I can switch between the first 4, but it isn't working for Astra 2.


Regards
Elector
Attachments
DVBDream_Diseqc_Settings_none.png
DVBDream_Diseqc_Settings_none.png (11.33 KiB) Viewed 18968 times
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-4000 / 8-port DiSEqC / 5 LNB

NVIDIA 8800-GT / 4GB RAM / WinXP
deletethisaccount
Just popping in
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:23 pm

dont work for me

Postby deletethisaccount » Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:55 pm

Im trying with an hvr4000 and the mot-sat3 with alone universal lnb on dvbdream 1.4i on vista 64.

Dont work for me, i used usals, raw diseq, diferent options and without success.

Under options/diseqc i put no diseqc and i trying with 3 diferent sats, hotbir, astra and hispasat.

Into options/positioner window dont move the motor with a generic diseqc selected. Option send dont work too, on send option behind sat name didnt work too, sometimes tell that the motor will be moved but no movement at all.

Sometimes raw diseqs codecs on positioner window changes, same sat and different raw codes, with 4 bits or 5 bits.
I like your software for sure, best free dvb-splayer for sure but with this powerfull card didnt work for me.

Tx for your great software
DVB-T card: AverMedia Speedy hybrid pci-e
deletethisaccount
Just popping in
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:23 pm

re

Postby deletethisaccount » Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:57 pm

I have more questions about ur software and hvr4000 device.
On device menu there are options for setup offset, what offset do i put for hvr4000?, there are 3 options...0, 166 and 167.
It is posible to view spanish TDT on Hispasat with dvbdream? i scaned transponders of all spanish TDT channels without sucess.
DVB-T card: AverMedia Speedy hybrid pci-e
bitl3ss
Just popping in
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:47 pm

Postby bitl3ss » Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:58 pm

works great!

I only have 2 sats setup on port 3 of a disqc sw with with a 22k sw for testing, a bonus I noticed is much faster channel changes. When I get a chance I will add lnbs to other ports and see what happen.

Much thanks
nemencionavarro
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:22 am

Postby nemencionavarro » Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:06 am

I have a GeniaTech USB SatBox and the DiseqC still does not work for me. I tried it with and without raw DiseqC commands and still not a "go". Scanning whichever sat always does the very first sat on LNB1.

I would be interested in knowing from anyone how his/her exact set up for GeniaTech Satbox supporting 4 sats. Thanks.
Geniatech USB Satbox/BDA
westeee
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:17 am
Location: Gloucester U.K

Postby westeee » Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:44 am

:D Yes, this patch works on my Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2.
Thanks!
All that's needed now for a perfect DvbDream experience is smooth HD performance, like AltDvb...
Hauppauge NOVA-HD-S2
3 LNBs with DiSEqC 1.0
AMD 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
OCZ 1GB x 2, 800MHz Platinum
Nvidia 8400GS (with hardware H264, yes really!)
XP Pro SP2
jgar666
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:32 am

Postby jgar666 » Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:54 am

Work fine in HVR-4000 if you select DISEQC. But if you select minidiseqc don't work. Always thinked that one is same of other just that 1 is for 2 outputs and other for 4 or more.

Anyway, that is not a problem, i can select diseqc and leave ports 3 and 4 in none.

Thanks for finally solve hauupauge problem.
Hauppauge winhvr-4000 / Diseqc 1.0
Intel CoreDuo / Nvidia GT8600 / 2gb mem / Windows XP SP2
deletethisaccount
Just popping in
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:23 pm

Postby deletethisaccount » Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:25 pm

jgar666 wrote:Work fine in HVR-4000 if you select DISEQC. But if you select minidiseqc don't work. Always thinked that one is same of other just that 1 is for 2 outputs and other for 4 or more.

Anyway, that is not a problem, i can select diseqc and leave ports 3 and 4 in none.

Thanks for finally solve hauupauge problem.


Did u mean that diseqc work without ant switch? only qith a motor and a lnb?
DVB-T card: AverMedia Speedy hybrid pci-e
vividweb
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:31 pm

Postby vividweb » Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:20 pm

Works flawless with the Nova-S and 4 port Diseqc
Genpix Skywalker-1/ver.2.13/
Win Server 2K3
maxxxxel
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:08 pm

Postby maxxxxel » Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:58 am

THANK YOU !!!!!! :D

Working great now with my Stab HH 120 motor, Happauge WinTV-Nova-HD-S2.

Works stable with DVBDream 1.4h. Crashed once with 1.4i

Been having problems with 1.4i sometimes there is no image or EPG is received. The only thing is to reboot the PC and try again. I dont have this problem with 1.4h.

Is there a trick to get the card working again without having to reboot the PC?
Happauge WinTV-Nova-HD-S2 - DD1.4h - bda_20080301_6
- Drivers NOVA-HVR-CD40a2 - Driver version 2 2.119.25023.0 - remote + wtvirbridge ;-)

HTPC - WinXP SP2 - AMD 3800 X2 939 - 1GB DDR2
$20 Donated to DVBDream. Support DVBdream and donate some $ :-D

Return to “HOT FIXES / PATCHES and Test Versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests