DvbDream Community

- No topics related to illegal ways of watching TV ! -
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:01 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

   



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:07 pm 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
LAN Broadcasting with DVBDream and VLC :

A) Broadcasting on an entire network with a router:

1/ In DD on Server computer:

- Go to Preferences - LAN Streaming
- In Client field enter the broadcasting IP address of your network

Image

Here the IP address mask for the network is 192.168.100.xxx and the subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 so i've entered the default broadcasting address for this network = 192.168.100.255

At this time, you can leave other default settings. But do not forget to check the "Active" checkbox before clicking on "OK" button in order to activate the LAN streaming (some lights should flash on your router and/or your switch when it's activated)

2/ In VLC on Clients computers:

- Click on File - Open Network Stream (or CTRL+N)

Image

- Select UDP/RTP and leave port at 1234 (except if you have changed it in DD)

Image

- Click on OK, stream should be received on the client
- You can open the "Stream and Media Info" window (CTRL+I) to gets info about the stream

Image

(The selecting channel was ARTE on Astra 19.2°E)

This has been tested on a LAN 100Mbps network with both nVidia PureVideo and Cyberlink PDVD7 codecs and several network devices:
  • Netgear DG834G with and without Netgear FS116 switch
  • Zyxel Zywall 10W with the sameFS116 switch
  • Thomson-Alcatel SpeedTouch 510V4 with the same FS116 switch

Next step:
  • testing broadcasting on a Wireless network with the DG834G (WiFi 54Mbps)
  • testing broadcasting on LAN 100Mbps network with a Freebox (Free.fr ADSL connection box) in router mode (without FreePlayer)

B) Broadcasting between two computers (server and client):

- The only setting you have to change in DD is the IP address of the client (it must be the real IP address of the client PC)



NB : It could be useful to decrease the buffer size in DD


USING COMMAND-LINES TO START VLC ON DD BROADCASTING

Here is an extract of VLC how-to which describes the use of windows command-line to start VLC on a received streaming :

Quote:
Receiving a network stream

To receive an unicast UDP stream (sent by VLS or VLC's stream output), start VLC with:

% vlc udp:[@:server_port]

If you use the default port (1234), vlc udp: will do. For more information, look at the Streaming Howto

To receive an multicast UDP stream (sent by VLS or VLC's stream output), start VLC with:

% vlc udp:@multicast_address[:server_port]


NB : % vlc means the full path to VLC executable file (ex. : c:\program files\videolan\vlc\vlc.exe)
NB : Those command-lines can be used with both Windows or Linux version of VLC.

Those commands can be combined with other VLC commands (such as fullscreen mode)

Example : to start VLC on DD broadcasting in fullscreen mode
Code:
c:\program files\videolan\vlc\vlc.exe -f udp:

(in this example "1234" is the port in use, so as it is the default streaming port for VLC, there is no need to notify it in command-line parameters / "-f" means fullscreen mode)

To be continued...

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Last edited by FredB on Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:01 pm, edited 12 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Please more details
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 2
I can't do that. Please more details about IP adresses etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please more details
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:06 am 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
corozon wrote:
I can't do that. Please more details about IP adresses etc.


Please more details about your installation :wink:

My network configuration (actually but it can change as mention above):
- A Freebox as simple ADSL modem (dont' have any influence on broadcasting)
- A Zyxel Zywall 10W as router with DHCP activated (IP address = 192.168.100.1)
- A Netgear FS116 as switch (no IP as it is not manageable but I've also made tests with two 3Com Superstack Manageable switch with IP allocated by DHCP or manually 192.168.100.2 and 192.168.100.3)
- Several computers, two of them (Windows XP Pro for both) can act as server (not simultaneously on the same network of course) and three of them (Windows XP Pro, Windows Vista RC1 and Linux Debian) can act as client (IP address are dynamically allocated by DHCP 192.168.100.30, 192.168.100.31....)

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:14 am
Posts: 2
Quote:
My network configuration (actually but it can change as mention above):
- A Freebox as simple ADSL modem (dont' have any influence on broadcasting)
- A Zyxel Zywall 10W as router with DHCP activated (IP address = 192.168.100.1)
- A Netgear FS116 as switch (no IP as it is not manageable but I've also made tests with two 3Com Superstack Manageable switch with IP allocated by DHCP or manually 192.168.100.2 and 192.168.100.3)
- Several computers, two of them (Windows XP Pro for both) can act as server (not simultaneously on the same network of course) and three of them (Windows XP Pro, Windows Vista RC1 and Linux Debian) can act as client (IP address are dynamically allocated by DHCP 192.168.100.30, 192.168.100.31....)


OK.
I got USR 9108 adsl modem and its ip adress is 192.168.1.1
And my computers ip adresses are fixed because i am defined virtual servers for port forwarding. 192.168.1.15 (server) and 192.168.1.200 (client)
whats wrong!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:07 am 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
corozon wrote:
I got USR 9108 adsl modem and its ip adress is 192.168.1.1


So the default broadcasting address for your network should be 192.168.1.255

corozon wrote:
And my computers ip adresses are fixed because i am defined virtual servers for port forwarding. 192.168.1.15 (server) and 192.168.1.200 (client)


They have the same IP address mask = 192.168.1.xxx so it should not influence the broadcast if they have both the same Default Gateway IP address.

corozon wrote:
What's wrong?


Actually, I really don't know!!! I need to have a reflection about that :wink:

PS : In fact most of my PCs have reserved DHCP address (the same IP address is always affected to the same PC) but I don't know if USR 9108 offer this function.

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:32 pm 
Offline
Not too shy to talk

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 10
I am not able to broadcast using Hamachi.
Maybe is not suppose to work, but I have to tell maybe there is someone with more experience with this kind of things and can give me some advices or an explanation. Thanks!
Anywho, I love DVBD. It is the best!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:57 pm 
Offline
relocation
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am
Posts: 1692
I guess some network hardware (switches/hubs integrated with router) are not so good to carry the load of streaming.

This is a theory I couldn't examine yet, is there anyone experiencing any problem with stand alone switches or hubs?

_________________
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:31 pm 
Offline
Not too shy to talk

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 10
I forgot to tell what Hamachi is:
LogMeIn Hamachi is a zero-configuration virtual private networking (VPN) application.
In other words Hamachi is a program that allows you to arrange multiple computers into their own secure network just as if they were connected by a physical network cable.

I have no idea what exactly means or Iam too lazy to understand exactly, but what I know it does is that enables you to make a Lan over internet.
So, if I could make DVBD to stream over this kind of Lan...but if it can't be done...well, no matter, DVBD is the best anyway!!!
Thank for all the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:24 pm 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
Virtual Private Network (VPN) uses encryption (DES - 3DES - AES - etc...) to transmit the data. This encryption can produce a very high processing load incompatible with TS streaming.

@gebeleizis : did you use Hamachi with a LAN connection or with internet connection ?
If it's with Internet connection, perhaps the bandwidth is not sufficient for TS streaming.

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Last edited by FredB on Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:11 pm 
Offline
Not too shy to talk

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 10
Yes, I use Hamachi over the internet (I thought this is the only way). So, there is not enough bandwidth. Oh, well...
Thanks for your time FredB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:37 pm 
Offline
Not too shy to talk

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 10
Long live VLC! And Hamachi! And, of course, DVBDream!
I now can stream DVBDream over internet Lan(thanks to Hamachi) with the miraculous VLC!
Thanks for everything!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:51 pm 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
gebeleizis wrote:
Long live VLC! And Hamachi! And, of course, DVBDream!
I now can stream DVBDream over internet Lan(thanks to Hamachi) with the miraculous VLC!
Thanks for everything!


Great news :D Thanks for this info!

As my router can handle VPN I will test it soon.

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:51 am 
Offline
Just popping in

Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:46 pm
Posts: 8
Help me!

My network settings:

IP: 192.168.0.1
Mask: 255.255.248.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.180

What settings i need make in DD?

I try 192.168.0.255 and 192.168.255.255, not working! But if settings in DD make 192.168.0.213 (My Friend) its working! But only for 1 client.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:28 pm 
Offline
love DVB Dream!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:19 pm
Posts: 315
Location: France
ice wrote:
Mask: 255.255.248.0


Do you have several subnet on your network ?

The IP address reserved for broadcasting always ends with 255 so if your network address is 192.168.0.0 the broadcast address is 192.168.0.255

_________________
Forum PCTVSat : http://pctvsat.free.fr
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Pinnacle PCTV Sat + Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S / Athlon 64 3500+ - 2048 Mb DDR - GeForce 7900 GS
Twinhan Vision Plus 1030A + Asus Europa II Hybrid / PIV D920 2x2.8 Ghz - 2048 Mb DDR2 - GeForce 7600 GS
PCTV Sat Pro PCI (PCTV 450i) + DVICO Fusion HDTV USB / Athlon XP 3200+ - 1024 Mb DDR - GeForce 6600GT
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Collective installation with 2 LNB Quad and multiswitches DiseqC - LNB A = Astra 19.2°E - LNB B = Hotbird 13.0°E - Commutation = 13V/18V/22K + DiseqC 2.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:31 pm 
Offline
Just popping in

Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:46 pm
Posts: 8
No! One subnet, but this mask allow more then 256 IP adresses in subnet.

192.168.0.0-192.168.7.255


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group