root's BDA Mantis DD driver

General discussion . (Do not post bug reports or feature requests in this section!)

Moderators: X05, Dreamer, FredB

r00t
Just can't stay away
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:58 pm

root's BDA Mantis DD driver

Postby r00t » Mon May 03, 2010 2:42 pm

Hi,

After trying different BDA interfaces with various results, I decided to write my own device module for Skystar HD2.

What works:
- Tuning both DVB-S and DVB-S2 signals except 16/32APSK (see below)
- raw DiSEqC, Tone/Data burst should work too (untested)
- ... and all other normal stuff you want your card to do

What doesn't work:
- 16APSK - There is no way how to tell card you want to use any specific modulation. It completely ignores all BDA
inner/outer FEC values. Windows device driver uses same routines as Linux one (google it if you want to see source
code) and it should be able to autodetect 16APSK signals. However this fails for some reason and after few seconds
with signal (but no decoded stream data) it fails. This is probably bug in the driver and hopefully will be resolved as this
modulation gets more widely used.
- CI slot - I don't have CI slot for this card and actual programming looks rather ugly, so I'm skipping on this one
- Handling more than one Mantis card on single PC (you can have more BDA cards, just not more Mantis chipset ones).
I can fix this in future if someone really needs it.

It's likely it will work on other cards with Mantis chipset (like original TWINHAN AD-SP400).

This driver is only for DVB-S/S2 cards. It doesn't support ATSC or DVB-T cards with this chipset.

Version history:
2010-05-03 v0.1 - First version
2010-05-06 v0.2 - Fixed bug on 1.1.1.900 drivers, added some driver info to "Device option" message box
2010-06-30 v0.3 - Added small delay to make DiSEqC sending more reliable, added small dialog that says card is tuning instead of just freezing up DD
2011-04-29 v0.4 - Works with new CinergyS2 drivers, improved scanning performance


Feedback is welcome. In case of problems, please post both error message string and error code it shows.
Attachments
mantis.dev
DD Mantis device v0.4
(125.5 KiB) Downloaded 2156 times

Last edited by r00t on Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:27 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Skystar2 2.3 + Skystar HD2 + SG-2100 + TwinLNB
AlessioZ
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:05 pm
Location: Italy, Pescara

Postby AlessioZ » Mon May 03, 2010 4:56 pm

Testing . 8)

Tnx.
Skystar HD2 @ Win7 x64
TerraTec Cinergy S2 PCI HD @ Vista x64
Jay Santos
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:46 am

Postby Jay Santos » Fri May 14, 2010 4:47 pm

testing... feedback later...a couple of days or so :)

Regards
Windows7 86x + SkyStar HD2
[hispasat 30ºw - astra 19.2ºe - hotbird 13ºe]
[diseqc switch 4x1 - 2xUniversal LNB's - 1xQuad LNB]
ENG_TEKA
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:34 pm

Postby ENG_TEKA » Mon May 17, 2010 5:48 pm

thanks my brother for your great work ..
but i have a problem i wish u could help me
i have twinhan AD-sp400 and use windows 7
my problem is i can't tune my card to 8 psk channels with dvb dream , but i can do it with other players like prog and smart dvb as i cane force them to use 8vSB modulation .
i hope u fix this problem ... thanks in advance

best regards
twinhan ad sp-400 , ati 4670 , q6600 2G RAM . OS win 7 32 .
r00t
Just can't stay away
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:58 pm

Postby r00t » Mon May 17, 2010 8:16 pm

Can you tell me what transponer (and sat) you are trying to receive?
Does this mantis driver works for other channels with your card without problems?
Skystar2 2.3 + Skystar HD2 + SG-2100 + TwinLNB
ENG_TEKA
Just popping in
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:34 pm

Postby ENG_TEKA » Wed May 19, 2010 2:59 pm

sorry my brother it works fine now , the problem was from the transponder i try to use as it was like feeds . it work great now. thanks again .
twinhan ad sp-400 , ati 4670 , q6600 2G RAM . OS win 7 32 .
mix74
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:18 pm

Postby mix74 » Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:34 pm

In testing...
Windows XP service pack3
DVBDream ver 1.4i
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI with 1.01.01.901
Work perfect :)
ty
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI
AlessioZ
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:05 pm
Location: Italy, Pescara

Postby AlessioZ » Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:56 am

Testing . 8)

Tnx.

Great.
Work perfect.
:wink:
Skystar HD2 @ Win7 x64
TerraTec Cinergy S2 PCI HD @ Vista x64
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:25 pm

I tried this device and I have this error dialog, it's shown twice, always:

"Error at "diseqc send", code 8007001F"

Then it works good.

BTW Small dialog when changing a channel is not necessary IMHO, it's shown just for a moment so it's impossible to read it.
Dreamer
mix74
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:18 pm

Postby mix74 » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:29 pm

In testing...
Windows XP service pack3
DVBDream ver 1.4i and 1.5c
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI with 1.01.01.901
crash on close
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI
r00t
Just can't stay away
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:58 pm

Postby r00t » Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:26 pm

BTW Small dialog when changing a channel is not necessary IMHO, it's shown just for a moment so it's impossible to read it.
Well, when you are just switching channels, it doesn't matter. But when doing some feedhunting with low symbol rates, it may take up to 10 seconds to lock (or fail to lock)

"Error at "diseqc send", code 8007001F"
This is weird, because I haven't changed anything in that function.

crash on close
Can you take screenshot of the crash debug info?

edit: Try the attached version, it should be same as v0.3 but without tuning dialog code

... not so successful update this v0.3 - you can use v0.2 if you still have it, I will try to fix these bugs ...
Last edited by r00t on Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Skystar2 2.3 + Skystar HD2 + SG-2100 + TwinLNB
mix74
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:18 pm

Postby mix74 » Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:40 pm

i tried with your last revision...always error on close.
i send u the print screen of the error
Attachments
error.JPG
error.JPG (117.28 KiB) Viewed 21094 times
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI
User avatar
genpix
love DVB Dream!
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:33 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby genpix » Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:11 pm

very often, crash during closing is due to buggy plug-ins.
to isolate the behavior/bug, please disable/remove all plug-ins.
r00t
Just can't stay away
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:58 pm

Postby r00t » Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:01 pm

Try this one...
Attachments
mantis.dev
some v0.3 test version
(105.5 KiB) Downloaded 828 times
Skystar2 2.3 + Skystar HD2 + SG-2100 + TwinLNB
mix74
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:18 pm

Postby mix74 » Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:26 am

tried :( still crash on close
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest