Page 1 of 2

root's BDA Mantis DD driver

Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 2:42 pm
by r00t
Hi,

After trying different BDA interfaces with various results, I decided to write my own device module for Skystar HD2.

What works:
- Tuning both DVB-S and DVB-S2 signals except 16/32APSK (see below)
- raw DiSEqC, Tone/Data burst should work too (untested)
- ... and all other normal stuff you want your card to do

What doesn't work:
- 16APSK - There is no way how to tell card you want to use any specific modulation. It completely ignores all BDA
inner/outer FEC values. Windows device driver uses same routines as Linux one (google it if you want to see source
code) and it should be able to autodetect 16APSK signals. However this fails for some reason and after few seconds
with signal (but no decoded stream data) it fails. This is probably bug in the driver and hopefully will be resolved as this
modulation gets more widely used.
- CI slot - I don't have CI slot for this card and actual programming looks rather ugly, so I'm skipping on this one
- Handling more than one Mantis card on single PC (you can have more BDA cards, just not more Mantis chipset ones).
I can fix this in future if someone really needs it.

It's likely it will work on other cards with Mantis chipset (like original TWINHAN AD-SP400).

This driver is only for DVB-S/S2 cards. It doesn't support ATSC or DVB-T cards with this chipset.

Version history:
2010-05-03 v0.1 - First version
2010-05-06 v0.2 - Fixed bug on 1.1.1.900 drivers, added some driver info to "Device option" message box
2010-06-30 v0.3 - Added small delay to make DiSEqC sending more reliable, added small dialog that says card is tuning instead of just freezing up DD
2011-04-29 v0.4 - Works with new CinergyS2 drivers, improved scanning performance


Feedback is welcome. In case of problems, please post both error message string and error code it shows.

Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 4:56 pm
by AlessioZ
Testing . 8)

Tnx.

Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 4:47 pm
by Jay Santos
testing... feedback later...a couple of days or so :)

Regards

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:48 pm
by ENG_TEKA
thanks my brother for your great work ..
but i have a problem i wish u could help me
i have twinhan AD-sp400 and use windows 7
my problem is i can't tune my card to 8 psk channels with dvb dream , but i can do it with other players like prog and smart dvb as i cane force them to use 8vSB modulation .
i hope u fix this problem ... thanks in advance

best regards

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 8:16 pm
by r00t
Can you tell me what transponer (and sat) you are trying to receive?
Does this mantis driver works for other channels with your card without problems?

Posted: Wed May 19, 2010 2:59 pm
by ENG_TEKA
sorry my brother it works fine now , the problem was from the transponder i try to use as it was like feeds . it work great now. thanks again .

Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:34 pm
by mix74
In testing...
Windows XP service pack3
DVBDream ver 1.4i
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI with 1.01.01.901
Work perfect :)
ty

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:56 am
by AlessioZ
Testing . 8)

Tnx.

Great.
Work perfect.
:wink:

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:25 pm
by Dreamer
I tried this device and I have this error dialog, it's shown twice, always:

"Error at "diseqc send", code 8007001F"

Then it works good.

BTW Small dialog when changing a channel is not necessary IMHO, it's shown just for a moment so it's impossible to read it.

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:29 pm
by mix74
In testing...
Windows XP service pack3
DVBDream ver 1.4i and 1.5c
Terratec Cinergy S2 CI with 1.01.01.901
crash on close

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:26 pm
by r00t
BTW Small dialog when changing a channel is not necessary IMHO, it's shown just for a moment so it's impossible to read it.
Well, when you are just switching channels, it doesn't matter. But when doing some feedhunting with low symbol rates, it may take up to 10 seconds to lock (or fail to lock)

"Error at "diseqc send", code 8007001F"
This is weird, because I haven't changed anything in that function.

crash on close
Can you take screenshot of the crash debug info?

edit: Try the attached version, it should be same as v0.3 but without tuning dialog code

... not so successful update this v0.3 - you can use v0.2 if you still have it, I will try to fix these bugs ...

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:40 pm
by mix74
i tried with your last revision...always error on close.
i send u the print screen of the error

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:11 pm
by genpix
very often, crash during closing is due to buggy plug-ins.
to isolate the behavior/bug, please disable/remove all plug-ins.

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:01 pm
by r00t
Try this one...

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:26 am
by mix74
tried :( still crash on close