New BDA-Device-Driver for DD

New modules to be tested

Moderator: Dreamer

seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Can't make Diseqc Work

Postby seeme » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:37 pm

Hi! I,m trying to make diseqc work for 2 lnb using 4 in 1 diseqc switch. Tried all combinations using BDA all 1.08. Here is the log file.

Thanks for all you help.

[23:36:29:114] [DEV_INIT]::DEV-version: 01.00.08.01
[23:36:29:114] [DEV_INIT]::Windows-version: XP
[23:36:29:114] [DEV_INIT]::Programm calling: C:\dvbdream\dvbdream.exe
[23:36:29:124] [DEV_INIT]::Collecting device information...
[23:36:29:134] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Init]::Enumerate 1 Network-Tuner
[23:36:29:144] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Init]::Enumerate 2 Node-Descriptor
[23:36:29:144] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Init]::Remove TuningSpace: DC-DVBs
[23:36:29:144] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Init]::Create TuningSpace: DC-DVBs
[23:36:29:144] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Init]::... Finished
[23:36:29:144] [DEV_INIT]::BDA-Devices found: 1
[23:36:29:144] [DEV_INIT]::Device #0: 713x BDA DVBS Tuner (DVB-S)
[23:36:29:144] [DD-Request]::DeviceGetInterface
[23:36:29:144] [DD-Request]::DeviceGetInterfaceInfo
[23:36:29:144] [DD-Request]::SetCallBack - Pointer: 00000000005736AC
[23:36:29:144] [DD-Request]::StartDevice - dwDeviceNo from DD: 0
[23:36:29:144] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Activate]::Request to Activate the Device
[23:36:29:154] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Activate]::DVB-S - 713x BDA DVBS Tuner
[23:36:29:244] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Activate]::Capture-Filter: 713x BDA Digital Capture
[23:36:29:244] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Activate]::Set TS-CallBack Function
[23:36:29:324] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Activate]::Activating succeeded
[23:36:29:324] [TTH_IOCTL(@02FF2138)->TH IOCTL]::THBDA_IOCTL_CHECK_INTERFACE failed
[23:36:29:324] [DD-Request]::GetDeviceInfo
[23:36:31:127] [DD-Request]::SendDiSEqC
[23:36:31:127] [DD-Request]::SendDiSEqC - CMD: E0 10 38 F5 - ToneBurst: 0
[23:36:31:147] [DD-Request]::CancelTuning
[23:36:31:147] [DD-Request]::SetTuner - TimeOut: 6000ms
[23:36:31:147] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->TuneRequest]::DVB-S - Frequency: 11938000 SymbolRate: 27500 Polarization: 1
[23:36:31:147] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->TuneRequest]::Setting up DiSEqC to 0x00010001
[23:36:38:197] [DD-Request]::SetTuner - not locked until TimeOut
[23:36:44:325] [DD-Request]::ShowOptions
[23:37:39:405] [DD-Request]::StopDevice
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Try to stop FControl
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Checking Graph...
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Try to close Graph
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Try to stop & remove Filter
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Try to disconnect pins
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Clear TS-CallBack
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::Unregister Network-Provider
[23:37:39:405] [TBDADevice(@02FF20C4)->Stop]::... finished
[23:37:39:405] [DEV_EXIT]::...finished

Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz
640 MB RAM
DVB Silicon (Sky View)
XP service pack 2 x 64bit
Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB
4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)
Universal LNB (Arisat)
CausticSoda
Just can't stay away
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby CausticSoda » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:11 pm

According to the diseqc specs, you should be sending Diseqc codes:
E0 10 38 and then F1, F2, F4 or F8 to activate committed switches 1 to 4. The 'F' is the first part of the nibble clears the old value and the second nibble gets logically OR'ed with that. I'm not sure what would happen if you sent F5 like that. It might ignore it as being invalid or try to turn on both switch 1 and 3 at the same time.

The problem is that you can't specify custom diseqc codes with DD. DD sends your custom codes and then promptly overwrites them with the incorrect codes.
Twinhan 1027
Dishpro LNB
seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Postby seeme » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:30 pm

Thanks CausticSoda. Although I'm not sure if I understood it clearly. Does it mean, there's no way I can configure this to work?

Regards,
Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz

640 MB RAM

DVB Silicon (Sky View)

XP service pack 2 x 64bit

Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB

4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)

Universal LNB (Arisat)
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 2026
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Postby rel » Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:14 am

CausticSoda wrote: I'm not sure what would happen if you sent F5 like that.
..


F5, F6, F7 : these are to set the status of "22khz" and "polarity" at the output ports of the switch.

CausticSoda wrote:
The problem is that you can't specify custom diseqc codes with DD. DD sends your custom codes and then promptly overwrites them with the incorrect codes.

No , it doesnt.
(As long as the device interface on DD is specified to support raw diseqc in the supported devices list. ?!)
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
CausticSoda
Just can't stay away
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby CausticSoda » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:02 am

rel wrote:F5, F6, F7 : these are to set the status of "22khz" and "polarity" at the output ports of the switch.
...
No , it doesnt.


Here is the quote from the Diseqc spec that deals with switch changing:

====
"9.1. Write Port Group
In addition to the specific command bytes (‘2x’) which set or clear individual switch states, there are commands which can control groups of 4 switching lines by employing an additional (data) byte. The new switching combination is defined by the data byte within the command, and is arranged such that any combination of individual switches can be either updated or left in their previous state. This is achieved by allowing the two separate nibbles of the data byte to determine the switches’ state in different ways. Any bits set in the high nibble CLEAR the corresponding switch control lines and any bits set in the low nibble SET the corresponding lines. To ensure predictable operation the high nibble should always effectively be applied first, followed immediately by the low nibble. Thus if a group of four lines is initially set to ‘WXYZ’ (where W, X, Y and Z are each an arbitrary binary value, ‘0’ or ‘1’) and a write data byte ‘0011 0101’ is sent, then the resulting switching lines become ‘W101’. To set up all four lines, it is usually most convenient to make the high nibble ‘1111’ and define the required switching state in the low nibble."
====

The complete spec should be attached.

The important thing to note is that the bits in the upper nibble CLEARS the switch and those in the lower nibble SET the switch. There is is no mention of polarity or 22khz selection for command 0x38.

Here is an excerpt from BDA.LOG (I tried to attach the whole thing but it wouldn't accept it for some reason. I had to rename it to BDA.TXT.):

[01/14/08 06:36:19 : 3562] SendDiseqc() E0 11 38 F1 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:19 : 3765] SendDiseqc() E0 11 38 F1 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 3968] SendDiseqc() E0 11 38 F1 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 4171] SendDiseqc() E0 11 38 F1 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 4375] SendDiseqc() E0 10 38 F2 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 4375] SendDiseqc() E0 10 38 F2 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 4375] SendDiseqc() E0 10 38 F2 Len:4
[01/14/08 06:36:20 : 4375] SendDiseqc() E0 10 38 F2 Len:4


I have the repeat parameter set to 4 which is why there are 4 each. Note that it properly sent my custom commands, and then promptly overwrote them with commands of its own.

I haven't actually hooked any equipment up to the antenna wire to see what its really doing, but this is what the log file says.
Attachments
bda.txt
(7.13 KiB) Downloaded 258 times
bus_spec.pdf
(221.67 KiB) Downloaded 365 times
Twinhan 1027

Dishpro LNB
seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Postby seeme » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:35 am

Mnn, now I'm more confused. Not having technical knowledge on this, I am not sure whether it is my problem being discussed. Pitty me.

my device is not listed on the supported device page. But it is working fine without diseqc switch.

I hope there's way on how to make it work. Thanks

regards,
Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz

640 MB RAM

DVB Silicon (Sky View)

XP service pack 2 x 64bit

Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB

4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)

Universal LNB (Arisat)
CausticSoda
Just can't stay away
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby CausticSoda » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:33 am

Sorry about that. Basically, if you have to use a BDA driver, then it probably isn't going to work if it hasn't already. There are some drivers for certain cards that will work with diseqc, but not the BDAs. I have the same problem with the Twinhan 1027. It works for everything except diseqc.

A work around is to connect your card to the loop out plug on your pansat. Then tune your pansat to a channel that is on the satellite you want. What happens is that you are using the pansat to correctly send the diseqc codes and the card is receiving through that. You'll be able to receive all channels on that satellite and not just the one you are tune to on the pansat.

If you leave it in this configuration when not in use, make sure that your computer is completely off at the power strip. The soft off switch on the front doesn't completely cut power to the card and that can damage switches in certain circumstances.
Twinhan 1027

Dishpro LNB
seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Postby seeme » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:33 am

Thanks CausticSoda. But I thought looping out will work only on the same polarity and attemp to switch to different polarity may damage the LNB or the receiver?
Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz

640 MB RAM

DVB Silicon (Sky View)

XP service pack 2 x 64bit

Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB

4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)

Universal LNB (Arisat)
ugo1
Just can't stay away
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:14 pm

Postby ugo1 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:55 am

Hi

Finally got my Skystar HD2 driver. The card is see thiwan 1041 (mantis drivers) and come with mantis driver ver 1.1.302. I'm able to get the signal but I not able to find the channel in the trasponder you have a suggestion?

Regards

Ugo
Attachments
Devices.zip
(6.67 KiB) Downloaded 404 times
CausticSoda
Just can't stay away
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby CausticSoda » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:02 pm

seeme wrote:Thanks CausticSoda. But I thought looping out will work only on the same polarity and attemp to switch to different polarity may damage the LNB or the receiver?


Depends on the receiver. It would be best if DD has an LNB power off option, but it doesn't.

Also, if you are using dishpro or other bandstacked LNB's, then there is no change in voltage for polarity. The have both polarities present at the same time. The only thing you need to worry about with those is which satellite.

With standard LNB's, you will need to tune the pansat to a channel with the correct polarity as well as select the correct satellite.
Twinhan 1027

Dishpro LNB
seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Postby seeme » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:43 pm

Thanks CausticSoda. I guess I need to be content with my present set-up (manually dis/re connecting cable to different LNB through my window. Anyway, I'm doing it to record two programs from two diff. sattelite which I only need to do once a week.

regards,
Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz

640 MB RAM

DVB Silicon (Sky View)

XP service pack 2 x 64bit

Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB

4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)

Universal LNB (Arisat)
CausticSoda
Just can't stay away
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby CausticSoda » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:36 am

They have manual switches that you can use. You don't want to continually be disconnecting and reconnecting cables. They wont hold up.

Alternatively, you could try using Mytheater. Its not freeware, but it will let you watch for an hour at a time before it shuts down. It supports the 1027 and probably your card as well.

The only thing is that the 1027 isn't strong enough to power the dishpro twin that I have. I have to use my viewsat as a power inserter, but I am thinking about switching to a dishpro quad which is newer technology and uses less power.
Twinhan 1027

Dishpro LNB
seeme
Just can't stay away
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:55 pm

Postby seeme » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:24 pm

Thanks CausticSoda. I checked some shops nearby but didn't find the manual switch. I'll try again tomorrow.

regards,
Intel Pentium4 -1.7Ghz

640 MB RAM

DVB Silicon (Sky View)

XP service pack 2 x 64bit

Nvidia (Rio) TNT2 RIVA, 32MB

4 in 1 diseqc switch (Echostar)

Universal LNB (Arisat)
Shaga
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:31 am

USB DVB-T card Winfast DTV Dongle (DIB3000) problems

Postby Shaga » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:13 am

Hi, first I must thank ScanMan very much for his BDA driver, which enabled the use of AverTV Hybrid+FM Cardbus DVB-T portion in DVBDream. Unfortunately, I must report not even this driver (latest version 108) is not working with Leadtek Winfast DTV Dongle (DIB3000) correctly:

1) Scanning for channels does not work
2) Using pre-tuned channel list provides reasonable Signal/quality levels, but invalid transport stream (very little data) => no program data.
3) The card is reported with two IDs, I wonder, why - maybe it is the reason why the driver is not working correctly?

The log data is included just in case it helps:

[13:31:02:345] [DEV_INIT]::DEV-version: 01.00.08.01
[13:31:02:345] [DEV_INIT]::Windows-version: XP
[13:31:02:345] [DEV_INIT]::Programm calling: C:\dvbdream\dvbdream.exe
[13:31:02:345] [DEV_INIT]::Collecting device information...
[13:31:02:355] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Enumerate 1 Network-Tuner
[13:31:02:355] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Enumerate 3 Node-Descriptor
[13:31:02:365] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Remove TuningSpace: DC-DVBt
[13:31:02:365] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Create TuningSpace: DC-DVBt
[13:31:02:375] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Remove TuningSpace: DC-DVBt
[13:31:02:375] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::Create TuningSpace: DC-DVBt
[13:31:02:395] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Init]::... Finished
[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::BDA-Devices found: 2
[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::Device #0: WinFast DTV Dongle BDA Driver (DVB-T)
[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::Device #1: WinFast DTV Dongle BDA Driver (DVB-T)

[13:31:02:395] [DD-Request]::DeviceGetInterface
[13:31:02:395] [DD-Request]::DeviceGetInterfaceInfo
[13:31:02:395] [DD-Request]::SetCallBack - Pointer: 00000000005736AC
[13:31:02:395] [DD-Request]::StartDevice - dwDeviceNo from DD: 0
[13:31:02:395] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::Request to Activate the Device
[13:31:02:405] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::DVB-T - WinFast DTV Dongle BDA Driver
[13:31:02:485] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::Set TS-CallBack Function
[13:31:02:495] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::BDA Graph added to ROT
[13:31:02:625] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::Activating succeeded
[13:31:02:625] [TTH_IOCTL(@0A9520F8)->TH IOCTL]::THBDA_IOCTL_CHECK_INTERFACE failed
[13:31:02:625] [DD-Request]::GetDeviceInfo
[13:31:06:451] [DD-Request]::CancelTuning
[13:31:06:451] [DD-Request]::SetTuner - TimeOut: 6000ms
[13:31:06:451] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->TuneRequest]::DVB-T - Frequency: 618000 Bandwidth: 8
[13:31:08:133] [DD-Request]::SetTuner - Successful locked
[13:32:25:785] [DD-Request]::StopDevice
[13:32:25:785] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::BDA Graph deleted from ROT
[13:32:25:785] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Try to stop FControl
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Checking Graph...
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Try to close Graph
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Try to stop & remove Filter
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Try to disconnect pins
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Clear TS-CallBack
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::Unregister Network-Provider
[13:32:25:795] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Stop]::... finished
[13:32:25:795] [DEV_EXIT]::...finished
Gigabyte GT-PTV-TAF-RH (Hybrid DVB-T/Analog, Philips SAA7131E) on WinXP x64+Intel GMA - working with BDA driver (tested in 1.4h & fixed 2.1.0 BDA2 driver)
AverTV Hybrid+FM Cardbus on WinXP+Intel GMA - working with ScanMan's BDA Driver (V108) in 1.4h and with FIXED BDA2 driver (2.1.0) in 1.4i

Leadtek WinFast DTV Dongle (DIB3000/6025 - driver 5.13.12.203) on WinXP - does not work with DVBDream
User avatar
ScanMan
love DVB Dream!
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:52 am
Location: 49565 Germany

Postby ScanMan » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:05 am

[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::BDA-Devices found: 2
[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::Device #0: WinFast DTV Dongle BDA Driver (DVB-T)
[13:31:02:395] [DEV_INIT]::Device #1: WinFast DTV Dongle BDA Driver (DVB-T)

This woldn't be OK - normally only different Card-Types will be listed.
If you have DVB-T-Stick with only one input (are there others ?) also only one 'Card' should be listed.
SEEMS TO BE A DRIVER PROB !

DD is intiating device #0:
[13:31:02:395] [DD-Request]::StartDevice - dwDeviceNo from DD: 0
...
[13:31:02:625] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->Activate]::Activating succeeded
... Seems to be OK

[13:31:02:625] [TTH_IOCTL(@0A9520F8)->TH IOCTL]::THBDA_IOCTL_CHECK_INTERFACE failed
THIS IS NOT A BUG OR PROB WITH THE CARD - Here is checked for TwinHan-Card-Compatibility. If not, an internal 'ERROR' will be listed.

[13:31:06:451] [TBDADevice(@0A952084)->TuneRequest]::DVB-T - Frequency: 618000 Bandwidth: 8
[13:31:08:133] [DD-Request]::SetTuner - Successful locked
This shows, that your device is tuned well with given params.

Please ask rel what can happen having no scan-result ?!
.
Visit the german DD-Forum: www.dvbdream.de
_________________________________________
90cm Dish on Rotor STAB HH 120 / Uni-LNB + 90cm Dish / Dual-Quad-LNB to 9/8 MultiSwitch for 23.5°E/19.2°E --- SkyStar 2, SkyStar USB-Box plus, TwinHan 1041 S2, Technotrend S-3200 S2, DVBWorld S2, Terratec Cinergy T USB XE --- a few PCs with AMD-CPU/ASUS-Boards from Athlon-2400+ to 64 X2 5600+, 1-2GB RAM, totally up to 2 TB HardDisk, nVidia Graphics. All using XP-Professional - everytime up2date

Return to “Test versions of modules & device interfaces and other tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest